ANYONE FOR TIGERS AND TENNIS? – forgotten diaries of India in the 1920s

DSCF1002

Recently, I have come across old diaries and letters written in India by my maternal grandparents in the 1920s and 1930s, where my granddad was a forester with the Indian Forest Service. Bob Gorrie had been a gunner in the First World War and survivor of trench warfare (one of the ‘mortar-mongers’ as he nicknamed them).  He kept diaries of that ‘adventure’ too, but that’s a whole other story!DSCF1002 - Copy

 

On his return to Scotland, he trained in Edinburgh at the University – there’s seems to have been a lot of rowing, tea dances and theatre trips in between lectures on tree species and Hindustani – Bob was relishing life post Flanders. There was a whirlwind romance with sophisticated Sydney Easterbrook (a wow on the dance floor) and then he was off to the Punjab, leaving his fiancee to follow a year later …

 

As a writer and researcher, I am absolutely hooked on my grandparents story – their life in India leaps off the page – and I’m drinking tea, marking trees, auctioning timber, riding under moonlight and playing ‘topping’ games of tennis alongside them!

Oh, yes – and I’m wearing a brooch made out of a tiger’s claw from a man-eating tiger that my grandfather shot and named Gwendoline …

DSCF1009 - Copy

My next novel – a sequel to the Tea Planter’s Daughter – is taking form and taking my characters back to India in the ’20s. Over the next few months I’ll share slices of that long gone era on this blog – with the help of Bob and Sydney.

 

 

4 comments on “ANYONE FOR TIGERS AND TENNIS? – forgotten diaries of India in the 1920s

  1. Carol Dixon says:

    Very interesting information Janet about your forbear in India. I’m really looking forward to your sequel to the Tea Planter’s daughter (my favourite book of yours along with Beatles & Chiefs – when is the sequel to that one expected?!) Keep up the good work.

  2. Thanks Carol! No plans for a sequel to Beatles & Chiefs in the near future – but the Tea sequel might be ready for the end of the year if I don’t get too distracted!

  3. Suparna Bagchi says:

    Janet, I’m eagerly waiting for your book, because I’m also a daughter of Tea Planters; from Assam, India
    And Tea is not only my profession but passion also

    • Hello Suparna – lovely to hear from a real daughter of Tea Planters!
      The book, THE PLANTER’S BRIDE, is now available in both print and ebook, so I hope you enjoy reading it.
      Very best wishes
      Janet

Leave a Reply

