STEP BACK IN TIME TO LAHORE IN THE DAYS OF THE RAJ …

Researching my latest novel, THE PLANTERS’ BRIDES (a sequel to THE TEA PLANTER’S DAUGHTER ) I came across this great collection of old photos of Lahore.

http://nativepakistan.com/photos-of-lahore/

Great inspiration for my novel which is partly set in 1920s Lahore in the Punjab!

My grandparents lived there in the 1920s and 1930s, and many of the places are mentioned in their diaries and letters: they arrived at the magnificent station, were married in the Anglican cathedral off the Mall, stayed at Nedous Hotel, had a friend who was curator at Lahore Museum ….

My mother and uncles at their home in Lahore - my forester grandfather calls them, "Our Forest Nursery"!

My mother and uncles at their home in Lahore – my forester grandfather calls them, “Our Forest Nursery”!

Granddad was working for the Indian Forest Service. After Independence he stayed on to work for the new country of Pakistan and was based in Lahore.

2009-12-17 (1) 0079

In 1976, on an overland bus trip to India, we stopped in Lahore and camped for a couple of nights. I wish I had known then the rich details of my grandparents’ life there which I now know from their recently discovered diaries and letters ….! (Above is a game of cricket going on near the Mall in 1976)

4 comments on “STEP BACK IN TIME TO LAHORE IN THE DAYS OF THE RAJ …

  1. Usman Ali Bhoon says:

    i really appreciate your love with history as well as with Lahore and with your grandparents🙂

  2. Thank you Usman. Lahore and Changa Manga and other places in Pakistan and northern India feature in my next novel, THE PLANTER’S BRIDE, which is set in the 1920s and draws on background detail from my grandfather’s diaries. Out soon! Best wishes, Janet

  3. basitjee says:

    I admire this blog. I am from Lahore and I really enjoyed to read it. Awesome feelings!

Leave a Reply

